I’m cheating on you with myself…

I’m cheating on you with myself…

iStock_book_typewriter_writing

What I actually mean is while I’ve been trying, more or less, to do a post every week, I’m going to have to dial it back to maybe one a month. I’m actually giving a good effort to do what I’ve wanted to do for some time and write a book that has been in my head for years.

If I do any more posts than that (or less) you can probably blame my book. I will likely post updates as to how the book is coming along and how frustrating it is to try and write one. If my posts are not updates, they’ll likely be something I feel the inspiration or need to vent about which may help bolster my creativity for my book (or, more honestly, provide a break from it).

While I won’t reveal all about my book, I’ll tell you it will be similar to the show Heroes. People with powers. It will be centred around one individual over, what I hope, is a three book series.


 

This part may help fellow wannabe writers

As for the way I’m writing it, I did a bit of research into writing software so I could choose the right program to help organise and expedite the writing process. Two programs stood out, yWriter and Scrivener.

From what I can see, Scrivener seems to be the most polished and feature-heavy program of the two and for good reason. It’s 40 dollars. USD. It has a 30-day free trial but I didn’t try it out. I don’t know how many of those features I’d use and I didn’t feel the need to spend 40 dollars. Anyone with money problems, tight budgets, or a genetic pre-disposition to cheapness may find the price tag a bit steep.

As for yWriter, it’s free! That should appeal to many but also raises some concerns. Are there annoying ads? Are you going to have to pay for additional features? How good could it possibly be? Let me help a bit: there’s no ads; you get the full program; it does seem pretty good. If you want to donate to get it registered, it’s mainly a way to show support and it’ll be 24.95, max. It may not have as many features or be as flashy as Scrivener but I read through all the info for both and decided even yWriter had more features than I’d need and I didn’t have to pay for it. Pretty good deal!

I chose to use yWriter but I still recommend anyone who is thinking of writing look into both (and possibly more) and just get what will work best for you and what you want to do. If writing is something you are serious about, 40 dollars is not a lot to invest to help make it a reality.

 

Leave a Reply

